Moss Safari on Twitter

More and more schools are contacting me with their images from doing their own Moss Safaris and asking @MossSafari things like ‘Is this a tardigrade?’, ‘Is that a rotifer?’ and ‘What’s that blob in the bottom left hand corner?’ Although I don’t know all the answers, I can help confirm if that is indeed a tardigrade or rotifer (or any of the Big Five at Low Magnification) and I can tell you whether the blob is something or unidentifiable!

#MossSafariID

So I am launching Moss Safari ID on Twitter, particularly for schools and clubs, but for anyone interested in taking part.

How will it work?

Teachers can use Twitter to share the photos taken during a Moss Safari (just one organism per post – more than one pic of the organism at different magnifications is fine).

Use the hashtag #MossSafariId with the the location of the moss/lichen (Brighton, Hull, Glasgow, Cardiff etc.) where the moss/lichen was found (pavement, roof, tree) and your question. Don’t forget the hashtag! See the picture below.

Biology Week Promise

Biology Week is between 1-9th October 22 and I aim to answer quite quickly, definitely in the same day. After Biology week I will answer as soon as I can, I have a job and will have to do this around that! If you are a teacher and you have a session planned, let me know when via Twitter and I will look out for your pictures.

I can’t wait to see what you find.

If I can’t ID it, I hope to find some experts on Twitter who can.

Quicklinks

Doing a Moss Squeeze

Secondary Moss Safari Resources

Primary Moss Safari Resources